Rush Hour 4?

by christypaul2013

I’ve had an idea tonight that I’m pretty interested in. Not interested enough to derail the project I’m currently working on, but this idea probably just made it’s way “on deck”.  There’s a little baseball reference for those of you who enjoy that sort of thing. 

I talked with Christy today about our mutual love of the Rush Hour Franchise. While Rush Hour 3 wasn’t great, the first 2 are incredibly fun action comedies that audiences paid big money to see. There’s a reason why Jackie Chan will be kicking chairs until he’s 103. That would make him almost as old as Jonah Hill.

I’ve been toying with the idea of a contained thriller taking place at the United Nations building. It’s got all the trappings of a contained thriller: a single building, powerful people trapped and United Nations is an easy title. I had the idea after watching Ben Stiller in Permanent Midnight just before the media blackout. If you haven’t seen it, give it a spin. Stiller plays a drug addicted television writer who has the reverse Midas Touch. Also, it’s fun to watch a man who looks like a chimp act like a player. It’s easily Stiller’s best dramatic role, in my opinion. I envision Ben Stiller as a normal guy who’s had enough of the current social climate, who then organizes a group of radicals who take everyone attending a UN peace meeting hostage.

Today, I’ve had the idea to make it more of an action comedy like Rush Hour. I’d make the hero a young “Chris Tucker” type cop who gets trapped inside the U.N. To play with the “united nations” thing, his partner can be a loyal, security guard for a foreign dignitary.

I’ve got no idea what ethnicity his partner will be, but I can’t help but see it as Jackie Chan. So, hopefully before too long I’ll begin work on United Nations, then it will go into production as Rush Hour 4 by the end of 2013. Not too shabby, eh.

 

Paul thinks Brett Ratner isn’t awful. Not super awful, anyway.

