The Fartist at Work

by christypaul2013

I decided to something a little special with my past two nights. Just for you guys. Because I love you. Come on, feel my love, feeeeel it.

There’s a short screenplay competition I heard about with a fast approaching deadline. I just so happened to have an a short idea. I wondered what would happened if someone wanted to be buried on the Moon. This is the beauty of living in Los Angeles. If you stare at a homeless person long enough, you can get all sorts of funky ideas guessing what they are thinking about. I decided I’d stay up Wednesday night and write as much of this short as possible, and guess what? I decided I would take photos so you guys can see what I’m doing in the wee small hours of the morning, while you normal people sleep.

So here it is, the creation of Mary Moon. First off, I’d need something to write in.

Scooby, reporting for duty

Scooby, reporting for duty

Next, I would need something to ensure I’d stay awake. Unfortunately, I was afraid Christy would murder me if I drank Mountain Dew 😦 So I was stuck with coffee brought home from work instead.

I'll be needing this

I’ll be needing this

And a picture for the ladies.

Make it Suntory time

Make it Suntory time

This is when reality struck.

Oh God, all these pages are BLANK!

Oh God, all these pages are BLANK!

Not to worry, Scooby can do anything! Shortly after, I had the coffee and the creative juices flowing. The first page was finished within 30 minutes. I deserved a treat.

First page celebratory banana sandwhich

First page celebratory banana sandwhich

What a fool I was. That first page is a chump page. Anyone can write one page. By the time I got to page #7 Scooby was singing a different tune.

I'm either thinking very hard, or licking my brain

I’m either thinking very hard, or licking my brain

It was at this point that I thought about taking up greeting card writing. 7 words and you’re done. Joseph Gordon Levitt had the right idea in 500 Days of Summer.

I want sleep!

I want sleep!

Eventually, I got back into the groove and wrote a scene that almost had me crying. I’m a sap, and also incredibly full of myself.

The artist is touched

The artist is touched

That moment lasted all of 4 minutes. Then, I really missed the coffee I finished hours before.

Scaring Chodie Foster away from keyboard

Scaring Chodie Foster away from keyboard

Wait! What’s that? The story is almost complete? I shall crush the last of this script with my mighty ham hands.

One page to go!

One page to go!

That last page was a killer. The Sun was rising, and my brain went to bed 45 minutes earlier.

4 hours later

4 hours later

Bwahahaha! Hard work pays off. After 4.5 hours, I’d finished the first draft of a 14 page script. In 2012 those 4 hours would’ve been spent watching Netflix and wondering why there weren’t more night owls on Facebook.

Bwahahaha, I am FINISHED! (with the first draft)

Bwahahaha, I am FINISHED! (with the first draft)

Tonight, I put the finishing touches on Mary Moon. It’s not perfect, but I like it. It’s one of those short scripts that is better left on the page. Why? Because there’s dialogue. Unless you’re dealing with professionals, never trust anyone to act in a short film. It’s just depressing, trust me. Here’s a taste of the real thing.

Mary Moon is the story of a young boy, Milo, who lives in a small town, without a friend in the world. Except his dog, Comet. They meet a wacky old hippy, named Mary Moon. (Yes, I did get the inspiration for that name from a 90s song. I have no idea what the song is called.) They quickly spark a friendship, and Mary tells Milo that she was born on the Moon. Milo’s suspicious, but he’s desperate for friendship, so he’ll believe just about anything. Mary gives Milo a glowing green rock, she claims is from the Moon.

Things get a little depressing after this point. As if letting some old burn out have a touching moment with a child isn’t depressing enough. You know what? I trust you guys. Consider this your late Hanukkah gift:

 

Mary Moon FINAL

 

Click on that and all your wildest dreams will come true.

 

Paul wants another banana sandwhich

 

 

