It’s ’94 All Over Again

by christypaul2013

Spending another night up ’til the wee hours of the morning. I’ve been listening to two new albums on repeat. Elle Varner’s “Perfectly Imperfect” and Kendrick Lamar’s “Good Kid M.A.A.D City”.

Elle Varner, ladies and gentlemen. Those looks and she's patriotic, too?

Elle Varner, ladies and gentlemen. Those looks and she’s patriotic too?

Poetic Justice is my favorite rap/hip song of 2013. Since music is the only media I'm allowed, I've heard a bunch, lol.

Poetic Justice is my favorite rap/hip song of 2013. Since music is the only media I’m allowed, I’ve heard a bunch, lol.

These albums are just about perfect, as far as I’m concerned. It sounds like music I would have listened to as a kid, sneaking into the living room at night, listening to MTV. Every single song on Elle Varner’s album is incredible. It’s filled with soul, and some catchy music. I REALLY appreciate that only one of the songs have a featured artist. It seems like every other R&B singer can’t put out a song these days without a rapper doing a cameo. This album is all Elle Varner, all the time. Don’t Care”, “Sound Proof Room” and “Oh What a Night” are stand-outs, but seriously, there isn’t a bad song on the album. She feels like the second coming of Janet Jackson. God, I’d kill for her to cover “That’s the Way Love Goes”.

Speaking of Janet (Ms. Jackson if you’re nasty), Kendrick Lamar’s new single “Poetic Justice” samples her song “Anytime, Anyplace” and turns it into the most hypnotic hook I’ve heard in a while. Even Drake doesn’t manage to screw this song up, when he shows up for a quick verse. Poetic Justice feels like a song that would be best enjoyed during the Summer.  For anybody struggling with the Winter crud, just kick back, relax and listen to this on repeat for a month or so and you’ll be right as rain. He even gets Dr. Dre to leave the retirement home for two tracks. “Compton” is incredibly catchy, and feels like an unreleased Tupac song.

After Larry Bird, I’m the whitest person alive, with a southern accent that Foghorn Leghorn would scoff at, but there’s just something about a catchy beat and good lyrics that touch my heart. Of course, tomorrow I’ll be listening to John Mayer. Tomorrow, Christy will make fun of me. I deserve it.

Paul’s favorite song is The Humpty Dance.

