FADE OUT, BITCHES!

by christypaul2013

I just finished my first full-length first draft! It’s a spindly-armed f*cker at 89 pages, but I’ll tell myself that’s because it’s too tight. For the next few days, anyway.

Paul is sitting behind me, currently in the process of finishing the first draft of his TV pilot, and tonight, we’re going to sit down and have a drunken round table. Maybe the booze will make the acting part less awful. Or more awful. 50/50.

Fun facts about this first draft:

  1. It’s taken a little more than a month to flesh out the idea, plot it, re-plot it, re-re-plot it and finish the crappy first draft.
  2. I wrote in waves. I definitely didn’t feel like writing pages every day. If that means that I’m not a natural writer… I’m not a natural writer.
  3. Though not a hard deadline, I feel like wanting to get it done in a month helped, because about three weeks in, I started to get lost in the forest.
  4. Last week, I set a hard deadline for today and made Paul and my husband agree to the deadline for their own projects, whether they wanted to or not.
  5. Since I set the deadline, I’ve been squirreling away as many rewards for this weekend as I could get my hands on, i.e. distracting myself from over-thinking the script.
  • Brie
  • Fancy crackers
  • $13.99/lb parma prosciutto (all to compliment the first kumquat marmalade I made)
  • AND I also happened to receive a gift card to Bevmo yesterday (for cat sitting, random), which I took as a sign that I should try 3 Olives Cake Vodka.
  • If Paul gets moonshine and fried chicken as a reward for himself, I will post pictures. Hell, I’ll post pictures of an empty table if he doesn’t.

Time to be my regular old hedonist-self for two days.

Side note: I think the closer I got to finishing the draft, the more confident I felt, as evidenced by my increase in self-photography and increased usage of profanity. I guess we won’t know until we get a bigger sample size.

Christy

