Magazines, Make-up and Make-Believe

by christypaul2013

Hello, old friend…

I’m about to condense the hell out of some time. INHALe…

The last Friday of May, we all went to a Ladies Night thingy at Pinup Girl Boutique.

Image

We got there late because we were finishing the move out of the old place, so I missed the Great Gatsby make-up tutorial by pinup model and America’s Next Top Model contestant Micheline Pitt (who also owns the boutique?).

Image

Image

The place was packed to the gills with decked-out pinup peeps, possibly because it’s always busy on ladies night, or maybe because fetish model Masuimi Max was there launching her make-up line, I AM SIN.

Image

Image

In honor of the launch, and probably to support sales, there was a raffle for people who bought I AM SIN makeup. It was down to the last eight minutes when we got there, and I was hesitant because there were so many people who already had tickets. With a few seconds to spare, my husband goaded me into buying something so I would stop being so mopey.

They announced the first winner, wasn’t me. The second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth. Dang it, this $18 lipstick had better be good. They pumped up the audience for the grand prize: Masuimi’s fancy-ass skincare regimen, $100 gift certificate for more I AM SIN make-up and buhbuhduhbuh! Micheline Pitt does your make-up (a $75 value)! AND…

They didn’t call my number.

Image

Just kidding, they did.

And a mere two months later, I was getting my make-up done by Micheline Pitt. By this time, I had also become friends with a photographer and worked on his magazine (I helped design the cover of the next issue! I’ll post a picture of it when it goes to newsstands). So, after I got my make-up done, I got to do an embarrassing photo shoot with my fancy makeup and new dress (and new heels, which DESTROYED me).

Image

News Anchor?

Image

Eyes Closed, Showcasing the Make-up

Shadowy...

Photos by: Jimon Aframian

It’s been a long, strange trip. I still feel pretty un-photogenic, but I did something new, so… whatever that’s worth.

 

Oh, and all that hype and no pictures of the shoes?!

They're pretty... extremely uncomfortable.

They’re pretty… extremely uncomfortable.

 

And I’m writing my second full-length screenplay of the year! About gold diggers. You now know everything that I know.

Christy

